CPW Board members

Published on: 1st February 2022 | Updated on: 9th May 2024

Mark Griffiths – Chair

Born in Cwm, Ebbw Vale, Mark qualified in 1985 and worked in various managerial and locum positions. He purchased his first business in 1997 and started Cambrian Alliance Buying Group in 2000, along with 5 other pharmacists. He has previously sat on Merthyr Local Health Board. Outside of pharmacy, Mark is a keen rugby supporter and currently the President of his local rugby club and has been patron of the arts through a trusteeship of a local theatre.

Anna Mir – Board Member

Anna has been a Board Member since May 2023. Anna is the Regional Pharmacy Manager for Boots UK.

Andrew Armitage – Board Member

Andrew moved from Sheffield to study at the Welsh School of Pharmacy and qualified as a pharmacist in 1988. He has worked for small and large independent groups over the years in various roles from locum to General Manager and everything in between. He has completed the Community Pharmacy diploma in 2002-2004. When the Pearn’s group was acquired in August 2021 by Knights, they were good enough to keep him on in his current role. He is now enjoying the challenges of working for a different, larger organisation that has sites both in England and Wales.

Claire Chapman – Board Member

Claire has been a Board Member since April 2023. Claire is the Regional Leader for East Wales for L. Rowland & Co (Retail) Ltd.

Sandeep Dhami – Board Member

Sandeep has been a Board member since 2018. Sandeep is superintendent of M W Phillips.

Marc Donovan – Board Member

Marc Donovan OBE, FRPharmS, FFRPS, FCIPDDirector of Healthcare Development and Public Affairs, Boots UK Marc has a career in healthcare spanning 20 years. Originally training as a pharmacist at Cardiff University, he has worked within the NHS and progressed through a number of senior clinical, HR and managerial positions within Boots UK. Marc currently oversees the strategy for Healthcare and external relationships.Marc presently holds fellowships at the Royal Pharmaceutical Society and the Chartered Institute of Professional Development. He is a member of Community Pharmacy England, Chair of the Community Pharmacy Workforce Development Group and a Director of the Company Chemists’ Association. He is a past Chairman of the Welsh Board of the Royal Pharmaceutical Society.Marc was awarded an OBE for his services to pharmacy as part of the 2022 Queen’s Jubilee Birthday Honours.

Andrew Harries – Board Member

After graduating from the Welsh School of Pharmacy in 1998 Andrew completed his pre-registration training with Boots in Milford Haven. Following a year as a relief pharmacist in West Wales he relocated to Bridgend and joined Sheppard’s Pharmacy. Andrew managed six Sheppard’s branches between 2000 and 2021 before the company was acquired by Avicenna Retail. He now manages Cefn Glas Pharmacy in Bridgend where he is passionate about delivering the best possible pharmacy service to his local community. Andrew has been married to wife Anna-Marie for 20 years and they have 4 sons.

Llyr Hughes – Board Member

Llyr qualified from the Welsh School of Pharmacy in Cardiff in 1997. He undertook his pre-reg with a small independent group in North Wales. He has worked in as a branch manager for Rowlands Pharmacy, as a Health Board prescribing adviser and a primary care pharmacist in GP practices. In 2003 he purchased his first community pharmacy, and by now co-owns, with another four pharmacists, a small independent group of three pharmacies based in North West Wales. He has been a previous member of the North Wales CPW committee and on the Welsh Pharmaceutical Committee. Recently he qualified as an independent prescriber and is enthusiastic to further develop community pharmacy based clinical services.

Mark Ireland – Board Member

After studying at the Welsh School of Pharmacy, Cardiff (1989-92), Mark completed his preregistration training at the Oxford Radcliffe Hospital where he continued to work after qualifying as a pharmacist, firstly in aseptic services and then as dispensary manager at the Churchill Hospital. In 1996, he joined Moss Pharmacy as pharmacy manager in the rural area of Mablethorpe, Lincolnshire. He went on to have a variety of roles in Alliance Pharmacy (formerly Moss Pharmacy) including professional training and Area Manager for the Isle of Wight, New Forest, Southampton and Portsmouth. He then worked in a number of international business development roles for Alliance UniChem, looking at pharmacy development and acquisitions in France, Switzerland, the Netherlands, Norway and Italy. Following the merger with Boots in 2006, Mark was appointed Head of Strategy Development for Boots. He took up his current role as Director of Pharmacy Contract and Project Development in 2009, working to support the development of the community pharmacy contracts and the introduction of new pharmacy services in the UK. This involves overseeing work to evaluate and measure the value to patients, other healthcare professionals and health economies of these services through his team’s partnerships with academics that lead to evidence being published. Mark holds a Diploma in Clinical Pharmacy (Queen’s University of Belfast) and an MBA in retailing (Stirling University). He sits on the board of Community Pharmacy Wales as a nominee of the CCA. Mark is married with two children and is a keen follower of horse racing and rugby.

Mo Nazemi – Board Member

Mo studied at the Welsh School of Pharmacy and qualified as a pharmacist in 1999, following a split pre-registration year in American Home Products (owner of Wyeth Pharmaceuticals) and Brighton General Hospital. He returned to the Welsh School of Pharmacy to completed a PhD in Transdermal delivery. He purchased his first business in 2006 and is currently the owner of Evans Pharmacy with 10 branches. He is the CPW representative at the Hywel Dda forums, a member of the Welsh Pharm Committee, Chair of the Health Professional Forum (HPF) in Hywel Dda and Associate member of the Hywel Dda Health board. Outside of work he is married with 3 children and follows football and rugby very closely attending both Cardiff City and Cardiff Blues games, usually with the whole family.

Stephen Thomas – Board Member

Stephen qualified in 1995 and began working for Boots in Wrexham. After a 2-year posting with Voluntary Services Overseas he returned to the UK and again worked for Boots across North Wales before moving to Rowlands Pharmacy in 2003. At Rowlands, he’s held a number of roles regarding professional standards, contractual matters and external relations. Stephen’s current role as Superintendent Pharmacist consolidates this experience. Stephen is nominated to the Welsh Pharmaceutical Committee, is a committee member of CPE, has been a member of Community Pharmacy Cheshire and Wirral (and forerunners) since 2004 and is a director of the CCA.

David Williams – Board Member

David was born in Porth, Rhondda in 1961. He received his pharmacy degree from the Welsh School of Pharmacy in 1983. Pre-registration year with Boots in Bridgend. He worked as a locum for 6 months, then left to manage an independent pharmacy in Ferndale. He purchased his first pharmacy, with a pharmacist partner, in 1989. At one stage, they owned 7 pharmacies. David is partly involved in the ownership of 6 pharmacies in South Wales, with several business partners. He is also a keen rugby fan, and ex-player, until rugby retired him. He is qualified as an independent prescriber in 2019, Passionate about increasing clinical services in community pharmacy and spending more time playing golf or ski-ing with the grandchildren.